About Barbara Anne Hough

Saturday, June 1

Posted on: June 1, 2013

Wow, it’s June.  How did that happen?

Mom had a pretty good week!  On Tuesday, she had a surprise guest.  Patty Causey.  Patty worked for me for a short time back in my early USP days.  She moved on to a different job in a different town, but we bonded, are FB friends and Patty is a loyal blog follower.  She was traveling through the area and made a special trip to Lorien to meet Mom and visit a while.  Mom was surprised and very pleased.  I think Patty’s visit helped Mom realize (truly) how many people are out there who think about her, pray for her, care about her and are interested in her life.  Given the radical change in Mom’s life in February 2011 with the accompanying loss of control, it’s nice to understand how many folks are “rooting for you”.

Mom and I had a great two hour visit this morning and I helped Mom undertake a bit of “spring cleaning”.  When you’ve been in the same room since June 2011 (she was next door for the first two months), things accumulate.  So, we organized her cards, letters, notes, found a random $20 bill at the bottom of a bag, and threw out odd Kleenex, Ziploc bags and various things that had found their way into each box.  I told Mom we’d tackle the closet on another trip.  Of course, there was FB time, e-mail time and blog comment reading as usual.  And Mom had her eggs, pancake and coffee.  Then, like clockwork, it was time (10:30 a.m.) to get into bed for the morning nap.  I’ll be in London next week on business but back for my weekend visit so will update you all again then!

Happy June!

 

 

1 Response to "Saturday, June 1"

Seeing your mom on Tuesday made my day–she radiates warmth and vitality, even in her compromised state. I’m glad to know the week has gone well for her. I have written her a card–will mail it Monday. Have fun in London!

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Cindy: What beautiful memories
  • lviehmyer: Hi Anne, I just sent you a long email!
  • Ted and Anne Seawell: Nice to think back over the past, isn't it ? I enjoy your "doings" - sorry we don't have a closer family...have lost touch with Betsy, Norvell and

Categories